Johnny's movies

Douglas Glenn Cyr: story of an “unwanted baby”…

Douglas,Whitey’s son the real positive, brief but good parenthesis in a heavy life-criminal-story

 

 

Lindsey Cyr revealed in 2010 at the Boston Globe Lindsey 3 Lindsey 2 lindsey 1 a personal and still not known “detail” of her life with Whitey Bulger: Douglas Glenn Cyr, her beloved son disappeared too soon because of a fatal illness was Whitey’s sonWhitey Bulger whitey

10378938_724615994247438_5009324213079832232_n

Filming Black Mass, Johnny as Whitey with a little baby in the role of Douglas in a new picture

whitey bulger 10

Whitey Bulger with Douglas Glenn

In 1966 Lindsey, 20 years, met for the first time Whitey, 37 at a cafè. Lindsey at that time was working as a waitress and as an assistant to a local lawyer.

This meeting at the cafè would have changed the rest of her life forever. whitey 5whitey 12whitey 8whitey-white-suit

In 1967 the pregnancy.

An “unwanted baby”.

This couple not a common one.

Whitey devoted to the organized criminality of the Winter Hill Gang couldn’t be a normal man for a woman.

Bulger strongly thought this: “If you’re going to be a criminal you shouldn’t have kids because everything you do affects them.’’

Bulger at first when discovered Lindsey was pregnant suggested an abortion.
Lindsey refused categorically.

Baby Douglas Glenn was born after a long and painful labor on May 22 1967 at the Jordan Hospital in Plymouth.

Whitey close to Lindsey. Anxious.

Nervous at time with her moll, attentive and generous dad plenty of gifts and time for Douglas.

A role he played only when he could live a so-called “normal life”.

Baptism celebrated at the Pilgrim Congregational Church.

Whitey attended the baptism but the baby was not registered as Whitey’s son on the child’s birth certificate for security’s reasons.

Lindsey was constricted to listing as dad of little baby Richard Cyr, a friend. She also changed her last name from Chester to Cyr.

Who is Richard Cyr?

Someone more close to Lindsey than what we can think.

Lindsey in fact before to meet Whitey in 1966 fell in love for Richard, at that time married.

The affair was soon concluded once Lindsey met Whitey and fell in love for him.

ap_whitey_bulger_2_dm_130604_wg

Richard Cyr excluded in an interview to the Boston Globe that he was Douglas’ dad.

He added: “Douglas had blond hair and blue eyes and doesn’t look anything like me”.

Richard had just given his last name to the baby for a good cause. This innocent baby without any fault was born in a heavy and dangerous contest.

Lindsey and Douglas didn’t live with Whitey. Whitey loved to spend time with his son when possible various times every week.

Adorable son

It was october 1973 when little Douglas fell sick with fever and nausea. Parents rushed, worried, at the Massachusetts General Hospital.

Whitey didn’t leave the bedside of his son until the end. Straining and painful days. Nothing to do for their beloved son.

Lindsey said to the Globe: “When he died, Jimmy was out of his mind. Tears were streaming down him”.

Lindsey revealed Whitey changed his character after Douglas’ departure. “He was colder.’’ It was 1973.

whitey 12

Whitey lived his son’s departure with profound melancholy.

He attended the funeral but after the death of his beloved son Douglas the relationship with Lindsey started to tremble always more. Whitey specified her that he didn’t want to have any more children.

They broke up in 1980.

Lindsey spoke to the Globe because: “Sick and tired of Jimmy being portrayed as a mad man. That’s not the man I know”.

Anna Maria Polidori

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Erica Mulkey-Niemann said, on October 4, 2015 at 9:14 am

    you should have had someone proof read this before posting. it makes no sense grammatically

    • Anna Maria Polidori said, on October 4, 2015 at 6:16 pm

      Many thanks for your comment, Erica. I am the only english speaker of my little place so the only one I can count in. I am italian. I try to do my best, but sometimes it’s difficult and stress can play a bad role in the process of writing and/or editing a piece. I will re-read it and I will correct the parts, grammatically without too much sense. Learning a language is like to climb a mountain. I haven’t never been in the USA or Uk for learning english. What you read is in a way what I learnt by myself, staying here. It’s a something but I know by myself, still insufficient. I am the first one completely unsatisfied sometimes. I don’t trust the various intruments I find on the net so I use my brain. Ciao and thanks again for the help and for stopping by for reading my blog. x0x0x0

      • Ken Brison said, on October 13, 2015 at 9:58 pm

        Good for you Anna!

      • Anna Maria Polidori said, on October 16, 2015 at 4:13 pm

        Thanks Ken.

  2. Melanie Taylor said, on November 25, 2015 at 8:13 am

    Hi Anna! I just wanted to say how much I admire you. I have really enjoyed your posts and your obvious enthusiasm makes them very easy to read. I think it’s quite brilliant of you to write so well in a foreign language especially self taught. English is such a tricky language and is very often mis used even by native speakers, there are so many grammatical rules that are broken and odd spellings that make no sense that your average 1st language users often get it wrong! Thank you for your entertaining pieces, I will look forward to reading more ☺

    • Anna Maria Polidori said, on November 25, 2015 at 11:01 am

      You can see the enthusiasm…Thanks! I won! It is what it makes the difference in this profession and in the written pieces.

      Yes about my english…I need to pay much more attention in my writing. I learnt all by myself and unfortunately in conditions of stress I am not as good as I would want to be.

      This year has been a year plenty of big stresses.

      But…I always thanks Johnny’s blog – and Johnny Depp -because it is givng to me the opportunity to come up in a profession and world very difficult and complicated.

      I will write soon other pieces. Thanks Melanie.

  3. Cat Fairy said, on January 3, 2016 at 6:29 am

    I say, well-done Anna Maria! We all could stand to learn and practice our language skills, but, I assure you, you write better than many native speakers. Just saw the movie and found myself looking for more info and then, found myself here. Excellent take an on interesting topic!

    • Anna Maria Polidori said, on January 3, 2016 at 12:55 pm

      I am fine with it.Thanks to all this drama WordPress said me it was the most read of 2015. I won’t never leave Boston 🙂 It’s a great good omen for me for sure! Many thanks for your comment and for following my blog Cat Fairy. I am honored.

  4. polishd007 said, on August 14, 2016 at 2:23 am

    Anna Maria,
    My name is Angela Marie, I too am of Italian descent, also mexican and Irish. I found Jimmy’s life to be quite tragic, and I have much sympathy for him. It must have been devastating, losing a loved one is about the most painful agony life inflicts on a person.
    I think you did an excellent job breaking down this aspect of his life, I respect your efforts and hold high regard to your ambition to learn. English is a hard language to learn. Don’t let anyone discourage your progress, you earned your place and right to speak. I hope one day your able to visit America, and get to see not everyone here is ignorant, close minded, or inferior. Some of us embrace goodness, and don’t choose to be mean or demeaning towards others. I hope you don’t get the wrong impression based on a few bad apples. Take care.

    • Anna Maria Polidori said, on August 22, 2016 at 10:20 pm

      Many thanks Angela Marie. Problem sorted out a lot of time ago. I will continue to thank Boston, the Boston Globe for all the help received for giving a good coverage at “Whitey” Bulger story and a hi! to all the Bostonians. I am still following “Whitey” Bulger’s story and I will continue in the future as well. I started this new Johnny’s adventure to Boston pretty angry with him. After Mortdecai also a real mobster…You know in Italy we have mafia and just the idea to cope with a situation of silence made me crazy! But…I learnt that everyone talked in “Whitey”‘s story. No omertà as we know in Italy. No silence, but a lot of information. I stayed relaxed. I felt the sensation of being appreciated and I fell in love for Boston, its story, culture and all the rest. I won’t never leave Boston anymore. And it is a city that brings great luck for sure. Johnny didn’t flop! with Black Mass because a solid movie. I gave coverage to a lot of Johnny’s events,news, but this piece remains, no sure if because the more talked and commented one, – written so wrongly at first – (trust me, that girl was right, I think she is a singer, so she will be in grade to write wonderfully well) the most read. And it doesn’t involve Johnny directly…I don’t know. I am losing the hope to visit the USA but it is fine. Maybe a dream mustn’t be lived once we are awoken but just in our soul. What I know for sure is that I discovered thanks to my tenacity a language that I just adore, good people. I am happy with it. If something more will happen, I will be happy. In opposite case a portion of dream has been realized. Many thanks Angela Marie.

  5. Jude Mignacca said, on September 28, 2016 at 9:19 pm

    Hi Anna Maria, I am Judith, also of Italian descent….just saw the movie,”Black Mass”, went looking for more info about the Bulger brothers portrayed in the film, and wound up here! Thanks for the info and pictures and will be looking forward to any updates regarding Bulger now in prison. Ciao!

    • Anna Maria Polidori said, on October 4, 2016 at 1:28 pm

      Many thanks! I promise to keep updated the blog also with the latest including Bulger. I am very glad you loved Johnny’s movie, Jude.


Leave a Reply

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

JamberNews

Fame is a vapor, popularity an accident. Only one thing endures, character.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Indie Ogden Utah

Your source for all things Ogden!

Asknod Veterans Claims Help

Hepatitis C/Agent Orange - VA Claims Blog

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Cherokee Billie Spiritual Advisor

Brings You Clarity With Psychic Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

My Pain, My Life, My Struggles, My Fight

Come walk with me, Down My Dark & Stormy Journey BUSINESS INQUIRIES & CONTACT EMAIL : GODSCHILD4048@GMAIL.COM

ELLIS NELSON BOOKS

young adult, middle grade, children's books

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

mission good vibes

spreading good vibes through the power of mail

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.