Johnny's movies

Boston and movies

Posted in dick lehr, gerard o'neill, james whitey bulger, Johnny Depp, movies, Uncategorized by Anna Maria Polidori on November 2, 2015

I read today an interesting article of the Globe regarding the differences between movies realized in Boston and the one realized in other cities, like New York.

I was thinking at New York City.

To me New York, mainly in the past was synonym of romanticism.

I am and I will always be a devoted, I confess, fan of all Nora Ephron’s movies, technically perfect.

When Harry sally and harry met Sally, Sleepless empire heart
Sam

Meg e Tom Empire in Seattle, You’ve tom hanks, meg ryan and the dog got mail…

meggie

Harry and Sally, friends, and later a couple. A big and long love story with maybe the most enchanting declaration of love of all the story of the cinema:

“I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”

Well, not bad, true?

New York City is also synonym of a lot of other romantic comedies of the past.

Who don’t remember the wonderful, funny romantic comedy with Jane Fonda and Robert Redford Barefoot barefoot in the park 2

bar 3

barefoot 5

bar 2 in the park?

I watch it often. It’s too hilarious. Spectacular the character of Jane Fonda’s mom and the one of the phone technician.

The trilogy of Home Alone dedicated an entire episode, the second movie at the toddler Home Alone 2 lost in NYC. Main locations: the Hotel Plaza, the stunning Christmas’ tree of the Rockefeller Center.

Dreaming locations.

How can I also forget: Everyone says I love you written and directed by Woody Allen?

New York is versatile.

I watched recently Good Will Hunting.

A real story.

Why is there this difference between these two cities? Why the first one love to invent stories while the second one love to tell its own stories?
Because the point to me is this one.

Why New York is more light than Boston and remembered for being a romantic,dreaming city and Boston for being more “heavy” and important?

Well I have a theory: New York is a cosmopolitan city, with millions and millions of people and hundreds of cultures.

Boston is more little, in comparison and more european.

There is a profound culture in Boston, able to make the difference, there is the pride of seeing told on the big screen good and interesting stories lived by the city.

Bloody hell Good Will Hunting is simply wonderful! unique, fantastic.

William Sidis existed. He was a genius, but also a complicated mind. The movie in a way found an escapism that in the reality Sidis didn’t find.

Whitey Bulger and Black Mass. It’s an uncommon intriguing, particular, criminal story.

The movie based on the book by Dick Lehr and Gerard O’Neill two investigator reporters of the Boston Globe and Whitey portrayed by Johnny johnny-deppDepp.

Spotlight again as protagonist the Spotlight team of the Boston Globe a newsmagazine able with a shocking story of abuses of pedophile priests to reveal a scandal of mondial proportions.

I read the first articles and it was shocking.
Well: it happened. So: why not to tell that? Why forget? Let’s remember. Boston keeps memory of everything.

When I started to correspond with some American friends one of my correspondent confessed me Americans love to forget people and events.
I asked to myself: why?

Boston doesn’t forget the past.

If you read an article of the Boston Globe involving art, or culture, books, music, the past in a word, you will breathe Europe in every word and if you are an european student in Boston you will find you are like at home. If you read the Boston Globe from Europe you think: wow, they’re amazing.

So maybe if movies based in Boston are less romantic and more realistic – because after all do you think we will meet F-O-X in Central Park saying him like many Meg Ryan: I wonna that’s be you — I wonna that’s be you so badly? – Please. We must be realistic – it’s because there is a great story behind this city and because people truly do care for every person and fact lived by the city and they go proud of the city.
William Sidis, Whitey Bulger, they’re two examples of a genius and a criminal that the city can’t forget.

Press in the cases of Whitey Bulger and Spotlight, made the difference because reporters reported all the story of Bulger and the pedophile priests thanks to the help of many people, collaborators, affiliates, victims.
The Boston Globe made the difference with an information healthy and courageous.
There is freedom to tell facts and where there is freedom to tell facts this one is the result: a brilliant one.

The first indispensable condition for working well as a reporter for keeping memory of events and people is just one: freedom of expression.

I wouldn’t be worried, dear Bostonians, because your movies are more serious than the ones of New York City. I would be more worried if a city doesn’t have anything of interesting to tell.

But not only it’s not your case: the particularity is that the city creates by itself characters and people able to become bankable for Hollywood, without to invent anyone.
Reality more strong and real than fiction.

Anna Maria Polidori

Leave a Reply

cakes, tea and dreams

savoring the beauty in the everyday

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

JamberNews

Fame is a vapor, popularity an accident. Only one thing endures, character.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Indie Ogden Utah

Your source for all things Ogden!

Asknod Veterans Claims Help

Hepatitis C/Agent Orange - VA Claims Blog

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Cherokee Billie Spiritual Advisor

Brings You Clarity With Psychic Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

My Pain, My Life, My Struggles, My Fight

Come walk with me, Down My Dark & Stormy Journey BUSINESS INQUIRIES & CONTACT EMAIL : GODSCHILD4048@GMAIL.COM

ELLIS NELSON BOOKS

young adult, middle grade, children's books

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

mission good vibes

spreading good vibes through the power of mail

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles