Johnny's movies

Lemmy

Posted in Johnny Depp, movies, music by Anna Maria Polidori on February 22, 2016

Kevin Swain sound engineering remember the leader of the Motorhead

 

Kevin Swain lives close to me, but when in London he works in the music industry. He is fascinated by hard rock and heavy metal.

So when days ago I wrote a piece for my Johnny’s blog about the tribute at the Grammy Awards of Johnny Depp and the Hollywood Vampires 12744504_516048851902096_7014746815289388076_n 12729337_516048038568844_6816451462035155804_n 12728863_515596361947345_2928277637991323484_n, mostly dedicated to Lemmy Lemmy Kilmister Kilmister founder of The Motorhead, Kevin didn’t lose time and he wrote me back saying me: “I knew Lemmy” and I told him: “Ok, tell me all”.

Today he did.

Kevin knew Lemmy so he hasn’t never talked of him as Mr. Kilmister, just as Lemmy.

Kevin, when did you firstly meet Lemmy?

I first met Lemmy in 1975/6. It was an early version of Motorhead, and they were the warm up act for my band!”

But Kevin being a sound engineering would have met the Motorhead another time in 1982.

I was sound engineer for the UK part of their tour. Their normal engineer was ill and I was recommended by Vic, their studio producer.

What kind of emotions did you breath while touring with them?

“The tour was as rocknroll as you can get, and several people couldn’t stand the pace and dropped out. I joked with him about being my support act. He laughed about it.
I became good friends with Phil, the drummer, but Lemmy was kept busy doing interviews and didn’t socialize much. Although there was one hell of a party at the end!”

Lemmy lived during the 80s in London. Kevin’s memories.

“He lived in West London, so our path’s crossed several times, mainly at post gig parties. He had a sharp and witty sense of humor. He was very well read, and would discuss books for hours on end, of course when he wasn’t playing a games machine”.

His main passion. He discovered to be sick, as reported some online magazines while he was playing a game machine.

Asking this, Kevin is superficial but…Was it true he loved to drink a lot sometimes?

“Yes, he drank a lot and took drugs, but he was always alert and never a problem”.

 

This sound more than good. What Kevin remembers the most is…

“How supportive he could be. I know two women…
One who was my girlfriend, who wanted to get into the music and…They were both helped by him.
He told then who was genuine and who was to be avoided. He asked nothing in return, and wanted people to avoid the mistakes he made”.

A wise man…

“Yes. I didn’t see him after he moved to the US, but he lived pretty frugally because he didn’t need much. He had a radio programme and he wrote lyrics for other people, particularly Ozzie Osbourne”.

A discovery…

“He loved Motorhead, but he wanted to make other kinds of music. The record companies, as usual, wanted to stick with a successful formula”.

 

“Encapsulated” by his own success, Lemmy is now a legend of heavy metal.

 

 

Anna Maria Polidori

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

JamberNews

Fame is a vapor, popularity an accident. Only one thing endures, character.

wandering story teller

A few stories from my life...

Indie Ogden Utah

Your source for all things Ogden!

Asknod Veterans Claims Help

Hepatitis C/Agent Orange - VA Claims Blog

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Cherokee Billie Spiritual Advisor

Brings You Clarity With Psychic Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

almostfreeNYC

enjoy NYC on a budget

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

My Pain, My Life, My Struggles, My Fight

Come walk with me, Down My Dark & Stormy Journey BUSINESS INQUIRIES & CONTACT EMAIL : GODSCHILD4048@GMAIL.COM

ELLIS NELSON BOOKS

young adult, middle grade, children's books

Bri Bruce Productions

Design | Publishing | Photography | Art

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

mission good vibes

spreading good vibes through the power of mail

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.